Penny for Your Thoughts

Southern States: Votes of Eight Special Delegations and Four Referendums


U.S. Government: Zero Delegations and Zero Referendums. Acted on the Decision of One Man and a Small Cabinet while Congress was in Recess


The eleven States that would eventually form the Confederate States of America, each acted individually in their decision to secede and each did so only after specifically learning the will of its People.


Each of these States governed by the consent of the People as determined by votes cast in eight special delegations made up of representatives elected in each county and four statewide referendums. Virginia held both a delegation that voted to secede followed up by a state-wide vote to secede. These events indicated by overwelming numbers that the People wanted to seperate themselves from the government they had formerly consented to be governed by.


The Confederate States of America was made up of eleven states that governed by the consent of the people, from whom it derived it’s just power as set forth in the Declaration of Independence.



In the North, no special delegations were ever elected to determine the will and consent of the governed.


In the North, no statewide referendums were ever held to hear the voice of the People.


In the North, no debates ever lingered long into the night, filling newspapers with the speeches of men who wrestled with their decision before the vote was to be taken.


The Northern military acted according to the will of Abraham Lincoln and a small unelected cabinet as it usurped the authority of 22 states and took them to war without a single vote while congress was in recess.


According to the eternal truths set forth in the Declaration of Independence, the power exerted by the Federal Government in 1861 was unjust power, because it was not derived from the consent of the people and it did not remotely resemble a Republic, but a despotic dictatorship.